Wellington's Mason Williams and Wade Peachey named for Group 11

CALLED IN: Wellington Cowboys five-eighth Mason Williams will represent Group 11 at Forbes this weekend. Photo: NICK GUTHRIE
CALLED IN: Wellington Cowboys five-eighth Mason Williams will represent Group 11 at Forbes this weekend. Photo: NICK GUTHRIE

There is an even stronger Wellington Cowboys feel around the Group 11 representative team after Mason Williams and Wade Peachey were both called up to the team.

A leg fracture suffered by Forbes five-eighth Mitch Burke in last weekend's annual long weekend clash with Parkes is set to sideline him for some time while Josh Toole and Brandon Tago have also been forced to withdraw.

Williams and Peachey have both come into the squad, with the former to partner Chad Porter in the halves.

Williams has been a consistent performer for the Cowboys during the first half of the season and has often outshone a number of the more high-profile members of the in-form team.

Bailey Hartwig has been called in to replace Toole in the centres, with the former Irish international potentially having played his last game in Group 11 after finding employment in Sydney.

Peachey comes on to the bench to replace Tago.


Despite the changes, Group 11 secretary Paul Loxley is confident of a strong showing against Group 10 at Forbes on Saturday.

"It's about bragging rights," Loxley said.

"It's always a special game and it's going to be interesting to see what happens.

"It would be great to pick up a win, it always is."

CYMS star Madi Crowe has been forced to withdraw from the league tag side, while Forbes' Thomas Hopkins is out of the under 18s team.

Jacana Powell and Kyle McClenahan have been called into those respective sides.

  • OPENS: 1. Will Lousick (Wellington), 2. Sam Coe (Macquarie), 3. Bailey Hartwig (Forbes), 4. Brock Naden (Wellington), 5. Carl Ralph (Wellington), 6. Mason Williams (Wellington), 7. Chad Porter (Parkes), 8. Ben Maguire (Forbes), 9. Hayden Bolam (Forbes), 10. Jordan Pope (Parkes), 11. Alex Ronayne (CYMS), 12. Loma Ataua (Nyngan), 13. Travis Waddell (Wellington), 14. Wade Peachey (Wellington), 15. James Stanley (Wellington), 16. Wade Kavanagh (CYMS), 17. Jay Slavin (Parkes)
  • UNDER 18s: 1. Aiden Lake (CYMS), 2. Eschar Luck (Parkes), 3. Isaac Nash (Forbes), 4. Karl Uele (CYMS), 5. Billy Dukes (Forbes), 6. Randell Dowling (CYMS), 7. Thomas Toohey (Forbes), 8. Jarrod Peachey (Wellington), 9. Col Piper (Nyngan), 10. Thomas Phillips (Forbes), 11. Harrison Leadbitter (Forbes), 12. Charlie Holman (Forbes), 13. Wendell Thorpe (Wellington), 14. Jed McIntosh (CYMS), 15. Kyle McClenahan (Forbes), 16. Jordi Madden (CYMS), 17. Toby Hurford (Forbes)
  • LEAGUE TAG: 1. Alana Ryan (CYMS), 2. Courtney Hodge (Forbes), 3. India Draper (Parkes), 4. Chloe Howarth (Forbes), 5. Haley Butcherine (CYMS), 6. Jacana Powell (Macquarie), 7. Kimemka Bermingham (Forbes), 8. Mikala Mongan (Forbes), 9. Nic Grose (CYMS), 10. Amelia Davis (Forbes), 11. Emily Caton (CYMS), 12. Maddison Chapman (CYMS), 13. Taneka Todhunter (CYMS), 14. Cassie Ward (Parkes), 15. Ashleigh Ward (Parkes).