Junior Cowboys wrap up a quality season

The Wellington Cowboys Junior Rugby League Football Club reflected on an action-packed year, both on and off the field, at the club’s annual presentation on Sunday.

Around 200 people attended the presentation at the Wellington Soldiers Memorial Club where Cody Walker from South Sydney Rabbitohs starred as a guest speaker.

Walker presented trophies to players and gave an inspirational talk on following your dreams and staying committed to the sport.

Acting club president, Rod Wilson, said the 2017 season had brought with it a number of highlights including an increase in registrations and finals representation by the Mason Dutfield-coached Under 14s.

Other highlights include the Under 8s playing a promotion game at Mudgee for the final City versus Country match, and the club siding a girls league tag team coached by Katheryn Newman at Dubbo.

Perpetual and team trophies were awarded to the following players for their achievements throughout 2017:

Most improved mini player - Jarell Ah See; most improved mod player -Nathanial Robinson; most improved international player - Robert Gilbert; most persistant player - Isaiah Hill; most consistant - Bradley Fardell; most courageous player - Jessee Dutfield; Indigenous sportsman of the year - Isaiah Ah See; leadership of the year - Tristtan Thompson; coaches award of the year - Mason Dutfield; women in league - Fallon Ah See; best dressed team - Dray Ford; Club person of the year - Nikki Ball; best and fairest - Tyrese Blacklock; outstanding player - Justin Walker; Brett Darney Memorial - Mitch Wilson.

Coaches enrichment awards were presented to Jerome Barker, Naethan Boney and Brock Stanley for the Under 12s; Jayden Stubbs, Zac Conn and Charlie Broome in the Under 14s; and Keenan South-Hill, Cooper Whackett and Ian Gordon in the Under 16s.

"I watched many games this year and was continually impressed with the high standard of rugby league played across all age groups,” Wilson said.

“There are many future NRL stars running around junior league aspiring to pull on a representative jersey one day.”

Lifetime membership awards were presented to Bryan Johnson and John Herring for their hard work and dedication to the club over the last three decades. 

John Herring was also nominated for the Dubbo & District Volunteer of the Year Award in which he was awarded his trophy with thanks on D&D Junior Rugby League Grand Final Day.

Club secretary Cherie Colliss thanked parents, volunteers and sponsors for making the season possible. 

“A very big thank you to our major sponsor WACHS – Tackling Indigenous Smoking (TIS) program as without their continued support and sponsorship we would not be able to accommodate the growth the club has had this year which has benefited so many children and their families,” she said.


Discuss "Junior Cowboys wrap up a quality season"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.